[photo, State House entrance, Annapolis, Maryland] Chair: Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor (or designee of Governor)

Ex officio: Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., Senate President; Adrienne A. Jones, House Speaker; Laura Davis Mears, Interim Chair, Board of Trustees, Maryland Historical Trust.

Nonvoting associates: Matthew P. Lalumia, Esq.; Robert R. Neall.

Architectural consultant: Maryland Historical Trust

Elaine Rice Bachmann, Secretary

State House entrance, Annapolis, Maryland, June 2010. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

[photo, State House (from Francis St.), Annapolis, Maryland]

c/o State Archives, 350 Rowe Blvd., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-6400

The Maryland State House in Annapolis is the oldest state house in the country still in legislative use.

It was designated a National Historic Landmark on December 19, 1960.

State House (from Francis St.), Annapolis, Maryland, May 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

[photo, State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland] The Maryland General Assembly convenes in the State House annually from January to April. Legislative chambers for the State Senate and House of Delegates, as well as historic period chambers (including the Old Senate Chamber), executive offices, and exhibits are located in the building.

Daily, the State House is open to the public from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., except Christmas and New Year's Day.

State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland, April 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

[photo, State House interior dome Annapolis, Maryland]

From November 26, 1783 to June 3, 1784, when Annapolis served as capital to the newly forming American nation, the Continental Congress met in Annapolis, and consequently important events took place at the State House.

Here, George Washington resigned his commission as commander in chief of the Continental Army on December 23, 1783. Here, too, the Treaty of Paris, ending the Revolutionary War, was ratified by Congress on January 14, 1784.

State House interior dome, Annapolis, Maryland, January 2018. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

[photo, State House, Annapolis, Maryland]

The State House is administered by the State House Trust. The Trust was created in 1969 to oversee the area inside State Circle in Annapolis, including the State House. This oversight extends to the use of buildings and grounds and any exhibits on display (Chapter 199, Acts of 1969). The Trust supervises all improvements, alterations, additions, landscaping, and repairs within the area.

The Trust consists of four ex officio members (or their designees) who serve as trustees. Members of the Trust may appoint from one to three nonvoting associate members who are qualified by experience and interest in historical preservation. The Trust retains an architect as a consultant (Code State Government Article, secs. 9-501 through 9-506).

State House, Annapolis, Maryland, February 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright May 28, 2019Maryland State Archives